How to Evict a Tenant in Vermont

How to Evict a Tenant in Vermont

Share
How to Evict a Tenant in Vermont

 

How to evict a tenant in Vermont

Landlords are granted many rights in managing their property. When deciding how to evict a tenant in VT, you may do so for "no cause" or because of a violation of a contract. However, you must follow the proper legal steps when undertaking this action. Failure to be aware of the correct procedure for how to evict a tenant in Vermont can lead to a violation of the law, exposing you to the threat of litigation.

There are many reasons that may lead you to find out how to evict a tenant in VT. The criteria for how to evict tenants in Vermont differs in every case:

• If a tenant has failed to pay their rent at the time agreed upon in a rental contract, the proper step for how to evict a tenant in VT is to give them a written notice of your intent. In such cases, the criteria for how to evict tenants in Vermont allow this notice to take effect within 14 days of being delivered. 

• When a property owner sells their building, they must give 30 days' written notice to comply with guidelines for how to evict a tenant in Vermont. The person who buys the property will need to follow the procedure for "no cause" evictions. Guidelines for this process of how to evict a tenant in VT require 90 days' written notice.

• Any violation of the law on the premises, such as drug trafficking, is cause for eviction. Guidelines for how to evict tenants in Vermont allow landlords to give 14 days' written notice in such cases. 

• In cases where the terms of a contract have been violated but not the law, landlords must give 30 days' written notice to comply with laws on how to evict a tenant in VT.

• Landlords must be especially careful in following guidelines for how to evict a tenant in Vermont when doing so for "no cause." While you may evict a tenant for no stated reason, you must give them 60 days' written notice. If the person has been living in a property for two or more years, laws concerning how to evict tenants in Vermont require you to give at least 90 days' written notice.

Regardless of the circumstances which lead you to find out how to evict a tenant in VT, you must not take actions which are not allowed by the law. For example, simply changing the locks on a piece of property violates laws dictating how to evict a tenant in Vermont. Without a judge's order, you cannot proceed with the legal process for how to evict tenants in Vermont.

There is no set timeline for how long this kind of civil litigation will take to resolve. Guidelines for how to evict a tenant in Vermont allow for a written agreement to be arrived at and submitted to the court at any time before a scheduled trial date. Tenants who lose their case in court may be compelled to pay their landlords' legal fees under the guidelines for how to evict tenants in Vermont. 

 

Comments

comments

Share

Related Articles


Read previous post:
Mississippi Tenant Rights

Close