Quick Guide to Landlord/Tenant Laws
Arkansas Landlord/Tenant Laws
A large amount of Arkansas landlord/tenant law gives specific rights and responsibilities of both the landlord and the tenant. In some cases, there are strict penalties for violating the rights of the other party within Arkansas landlord/tenant law, but the court will normally encourage both parties to resolve the issue outside of court.
The majority of information in this article about Arkansas landlord/tenant laws is referenced from the state’s Attorney General’s website and the official landlord/tenant handbook.
Responsibilities of the Tenant
In order to have all rights respected for repairs, security deposits, and more, a tenant will have to perform Specific responsibilities under Arkansas landlord/tenant laws. These responsibilities include the following:
• Paying all of the rent on time
• Taking good care of the property except for normal wear and tear
• Letting the landlord know when you’ll be away for a large period of time so they don’t think you abandoned the property
• comply with all health and building codes
• keep the property clean and safe
• inform the landlord in writing about needed repairs
• respect the privacy of other tenants and neighbors
• abide by all conditions within the lease
• give the landlord proper notice before moving out
• do not increase the number of occupants without landlord’s permission
If the tenant performs all their responsibilities under Arkansas landlord/tenant law, their rights will be respected within security deposits, the termination of tenancy, and more.
Arkansas Landlord/Tenant Laws on Security Deposits
A tenant and landlord have multiple rights dealing with security deposits, and these rights within Arkansas landlord/tenant law are listed below:
• A security deposit cannot amount to more than 2 months of rent in any circumstances
• A landlord must return a security deposit within 60 days of the termination of tenancy
• If the landlord deducts damages from the returned security deposit, he or she must provide the tenant with an itemized list of the charges within 30 days after the termination of tenancy
• If there is unpaid rent, the landlord is allowed to keep to entire amount of the security deposit and give proper notification to the tenant
Arkansas Landlord/Tenant Laws on Evictions
A landlord can evict a tenant by issuing an “unlawful detainer” or a “failure to vacate.” If the landlord issues an unlawful detainer, they must give notification three days before enforcing the eviction. If the landlord files a “failure to vacate,” they must abide by Arkansas landlord/tenant law and issue notification within 10 days.
The tenant is allowed to object to eviction, but if they have not abided by Arkansas landlord/tenant law, a sheriff may remove the tenant from the premises. If the tenant is removed from the premises or voluntarily vacates the property, any property that is left behind is declared as the legal property of the landlord.
Even if a tenant is being evicted, Arkansas landlord/tenant laws prohibit a landlord from changing locks, moving furniture out, turning off the utilities, or any other actions that encourage the tenant to move out more quickly. For more information about Arkansas landlord/tenant laws, you can contact the Consumer Protection Division at (800) 482-8982.