Quick Guide to Colorado Tenant Rights
Colorado tenant rights are similarly compared to other states, but some of Colorado’s laws are not similar to most state’s regard for habitability. Most of the Colorado tenant rights focus on disability rights, repair rights, protection against unfair eviction, and steps towards receiving a security deposit. If you believe any of your rights have been violated, you should always notify your landlord. If you still feel your rights are violated, you should contact an attorney to help you with your CO tenant rights.
Under CO tenant rights, a landlord cannot refuse to rent to a tenant with a physical or mental disability. A landlord must also make reasonable accommodations for a disabled person—such as a wheelchair ramp or widened entrance.
Unlike 43 other states that have adopted a warranty of habitability, Colorado has refused to pass any such law. This means that residents within Colorado do not need a promise from a landlord stating the apartment is in livable condition. There are some statutes that mandate what a landlord must repair within a rental property, though. You landlord is only obligated to repair the following problems unless a lease specifies more responsibilities of the owner:
1) The landlord must repair hazardous gas burning equipment. A tenant can move out within 72 hours if such equipment is not fixed and proper notification was given.
2) The landlord must make repairs that violate the covenant of quiet enjoyment of the premises. Such repairs may include a broken radiator, leaking faucets, doors, or similar problems.
3) A landlord must make all repairs to common areas that are necessary and provide coverings for defects.
Step to Avoiding Illegal Eviction
Under Colorado tenant rights, a tenant can be evicted if the lease has expired and if the landlord has given proper notice. There are also different time tables for supplying certain kinds of eviction notices. If a tenant is in a year-long lease, the landlord must give proper notification three months before the end of the lease. If the lease is month-to-month, a landlord must give notification at least 30 days before the eviction.
An eviction notice must also include the following:
• Writing specifying the grounds and location of the property
• A specific time the property must be handed over to the landlord
• A signature of the landlord or landlord’s agent
There are also multiple steps a landlord must take in order to properly serve a summons, complaint, and notification or trial proceedings. If you believe you landlord has violated any of these conditions, you may be able to avoid eviction for at least the time being.
Within your Colorado tenant rights is the landlord’s ability to deduct charges from your security deposit because of late rent, utility charges, significant repairs, cleaning measures, and damages cause by abandonment. If a landlord is going to keep a security deposit, they must notify the former tenant within 30 days or 60 days if mentioned in the lease.
If you believe your Colorado tenant rights have been violated and you were unlawfully denied your deposit, they must provide a willful petition in writing.