Quick Guide to Landlord/Tenant Laws
Kansas Landlord/Tenant Laws
The majority of the Kansas landlord/tenant laws are located under Chapter 58, Article 25 of the revised statutes. These Kansas landlord/tenant laws are also known as the Kansas Residential Landlord & Tenant Act, and the majority of this article will discuss section of law under this Act.
Duties of the Landlord in Kansas
§58-2553 of the Kansas statutes lists specific duties of the landlord, and a list of these duties is listed below:
1. Comply with the requirements of applicable building and housing codes materially affecting health and safety
2. maintain reasonable care and maintenance of all common areas on the premises
3. maintain all electrical, plumbing, sanitary, heating, ventilating and air-conditioning appliances, and elevators in good and safe condition
4. provide proper receptacles for ashes, garbage, rubbish and other waste unless provided by a governmental entity
5. supply running water and reasonable amounts of hot water at all times unless the building puts the obligation on the tenant
In certain cases, Kansas landlord/tenant laws allow the tenant and landlord to make an agreement on certain repairs and maintenance if guidelines are specified in the lease agreement. If no provisions for repairs or maintenance are stated in the lease, Kansas landlord/tenant law places the responsibilities listed above in the landlord’s care.
Duties of the Tenant in Kansas
§58-2555 of the Kansas statutes lists specific duties of the landlord, and these duties under Kansas landlord/tenant laws are listed below:
1. Comply with obligations involved in all building, health, and safety codes
2. keep their occupied part of the premises clean and safe as much as the property allows
3. remove all ashes, rubbish, garbage and other waste in a clean and safe manner
4. keep all plumbing fixtures in the premises clean and in working condition
5. use all electrical, plumbing, sanitary, heating, ventilating, air-conditioning, and other appliances in a reasonable and safe manner
6. be responsible for any destruction, defacement, damage, impairment, or removal of part of the premises
7. keep from housing pets if the landlord has expressed restrictions for pets
Kansas Landlord/Tenant Law for Security Deposits
The majority of Kansas landlord/tenant law about security deposits is located in §58-2550 of the state’s statutes. Some general provisions under this Kansas landlord/tenant law are listed below:
• a security deposit cannot amount to more than 1 ½ times the monthly rent unless there are pets
• a security deposit may be used for unpaid rent and damages
• if deductions are made, the balance needs sent to the tenant within 30 days
If a landlord violates this Kansas landlord/tenant law, a tenant is allowed to recover the whole deposit and damages worth 1 ½ the amount withheld.
Termination of Tenancy under Kansas Landlord/Tenant Laws
§58-2504 of the Kansas landlord/tenant laws states that a tenant must give a landlord at least 30 days notice before terminating the tenancy at will. If the rent is paid weekly, the tenant must give the landlord at least 15 days notice. There are many other Kansas landlord/tenant laws that address termination of tenancies and evictions, and you can reference these laws by performing a search under the state’s legislature.